Collecting Honey in the Congolese Forest

I recently started watching a documentary series by BBC called Human Planet and I was absolutely inspired by the peoples represented in the show.

“This BBC/Discovery Channel co-production was filmed in dozens of locations around the world over a two-year period and documents how humans interact with their natural surroundings. The six-part program travels to extreme locations to show people who survive in those locations by building complex relationships with their animal neighbors and nature’s hostile elements.” – Wikipedia, Human Planet

The civilizations explored use a number of techniques to exist harmoniously and thrive within their given environments. Human innovations range from hunting tools and water catchment techniques to building practices, all of which are incredible engineering feats. They are actively solving to a lot of the same problems that engineers in industry are trying to figure out, just with different technology.

I want to begin to challenge what we conceptualize as engineering. It doesn’t have to necessarily be present in an academic environment, nor does it always require a technical background. The root of engineering is creativity, problem solving, and collaboration.

I was incredibly inspired by the Jungles episode in which Tete, an inhabitant of the Congo forest uses innovative techniques to climb for, collect, and distribute honey. See the video [1] below and let me know what you think!

*You can watch the entire series on Netflix if you’re interested.

[1] I do not own the rites to this video
[2] Cover image from BBC.co.uk, Human Planet
2 thoughts on “Collecting Honey in the Congolese Forest”

  1. I loved this post! I just read your blogs fairly often and you’re
    always releasing great stuff. I shared this on my facebook
    and my follwers loved it! Keep up the nice work.

    Like

  2. This is incredible, I’m gonna be checking out this series for sure! Human grit and perseverance like Tete’s never ceases to amaze me. Forget about scaling that tree, I’d be too scared to even just sit there eating the honey with all those angry bees buzzing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

